

Independent Expert Scientific Committee on Unconventional Gas Development and Large Coal Mining Development (IESC) Meeting 105, 15 May 2024

MINUTES Videoconference

ATTENDANCE AND APOLOGIES

IN ATTENDANCE

Dr Chris Pigram (Chair)
Dr Andrew Boulton
Professor Jenny Davis
Dr Jenny Stauber
Dr Juliette Woods
Associate Professor Phil Hayes
Professor Rory Nathan
Professor Wendy Timms

INVITED GUESTS

Item 3.3

Jane Coram, Head of Division, Environment Information Australia (EIA) Division, Department of Climate Change, Energy, the Environment and Water (DCCEEW)

Alison Cowood, Acting Director, Data and Information Standard Section, EIA, DCCEEW

Item 3.4

Dr Dylan Irvine, Faculty of Science and Technology, Charles Darwin University

OFFICE OF WATER SCIENCE (OWS)

Dr Des Owen, Acting Branch Head Northern Basin, Science and First Nations

Ben Klug, Acting Director

Amelia Lewis Isabelle Francis
Aranza Bulnes-Beniscelli Jason Smith

Dylan Stinton Dr Laura Richardson Frances Knight Dr Sarah Taylor

Note: OWS attendees include those with full or partial attendance.

1. Welcome and Introductions

The Chair acknowledged the traditional owners, past and present, on whose lands this meeting was held, and welcomed members of the Independent Expert Scientific Committee on Unconventional Gas Development and Large Coal Mining Development (IESC) to the meeting.

1.1 Attendance and Apologies

IESC members in attendance and apologies are recorded above.

1.2 Disclosure of Interests

Committee members were invited to make disclosures. Committee members also completed a Meeting Declaration of Interests before the meeting commenced. No actual, potential or perceived conflicts of interest were recorded for this meeting.

1.3 Confirmation of Agenda

The Committee endorsed the agenda for Meeting 105.

1.4 Confirmation of Out-of-Session Decisions

The Committee noted that:

- minutes of the Committee's 104th meeting on 9-11 April 2024 were agreed out-of-session and published on 1 May 2024;
- advice on the New Lenton Coal Project was provided to the regulator on 16 April 2024 and published on 1 May 2024;
- advice on the Baralaba South Project was provided to the regulator on 16 April 2024 and published on 1 May 2024; and
- metagenomic research reports and fact sheet were agreed out-of-session and published on the IESC website on 1 May 2024.

1.5 Correspondence

The Committee noted the status of correspondence to 6 May 2024.

1.6 Action Items

Ongoing items were noted and updates were provided on the timing of completion.

1.7 Forward Planning Agenda

The Committee noted the forward planning agenda.

It was agreed that the next meeting be scheduled to be a videoconference on 19-20 June 2024.

1.8 Environmental Scan

The OWS reported on recent events.

2. Advice on Projects referred by governments

No projects were referred for advice.

3. Other business

3.1 IESC Terms of Appointment

The Committee discussed and provided feedback on the draft IESC Statutory Appointee Terms of Appointment Pack that includes terms, code of conduct, conflict of interest, confidentiality, and travel.

3.2 IESC Operating Protocol

The Committee discussed, provided feedback, and agreed on an updated IESC Committee Operating Protocol that includes protocols for meetings, media, and stakeholder engagement.

3.3 Presentation on the Data and Information Standard

Jane Coram, Head of Environment Information Australia, presented to the Committee on the National Environmental Standard for Data and Information.

3.4 Presentation on Climate Change, Water and NT Shale Gas Regions

Dr Dylan Irvine, groundwater scientist at Charles Darwin University, delivered a presentation to the Committee on the projected impacts of climate change on hydrological systems, groundwater-surface water interactions in northern rivers, and the shale gas regions of the Northern Territory.

4. Close of Meeting

The meeting closed at 5.00pm on Wednesday 15 May 2024.

Next Meeting

The next meeting is scheduled as a videoconference on 19-20 June 2024.

Minutes confirmed as true and correct:

Dr Chris Pigram AM, FTSE

IESC Chair

4 June 2024